Skip to main content
Shopping Cart

Water Management Association of Ohio

                                The only organization dedicated to all of Ohio's water resources.

Background Image URL //

ATTENTION college students with an interest in water resources, apply for $1,000 WMAO Scholarship through the Columbus Foundation. Check out this informational video for guidance. Deadline to submit is May 31, 2021.

To donate to the WMAO Scholarship and/or Education Funds:

WMAO Scholarship Fund   OLMS Dan Kush Education Fund

Citizen Lake Awareness and Monitoring (CLAM)   Ohio Water Education Program (OWEP)

Annual $1,000 Scholarships

The Water Management Association of Ohio (WMAO) is pleased to offer it’s annual $1,000 scholarship available to Ohio students. Deadline to submit an application is each April.

Successful applicants, one graduate and one undergraduate each year, must be an Ohio resident planning to attend an accredited Ohio college or university on a full-time basis, and pursuing a degree in a water-resources-related field. Students will be evaluated on:
  • Academic achievement and potential
  • Financial need
  • Character
  • Extracurricular activities and community service
  • A commitment to their academic program
scholarship logo
To obtain more information and/or to submit an application, visit the online application hosted through The Columbus Foundation.

For additional information on scholarship criteria and the application, please contact Dennis Clement ( .  If you are interested in donating to the scholarship fund or putting the fund into your will, please contact Dana Oleskiewicz (

2020 State Science Day Winners

Winner: Alice Lentz

Grade:  9th grade

School: Put-in-Bay High School

Teacher: Mrs. Missi Kowalski

Project: The Effects of Salinity on GMO Arabidopsis.

Alice formulated the idea for a project from her understanding of global warming. Living on South Bass Island, Alice was able to observe firsthand the effects of global warming on the water level of Lake Erie. She learned that global warming was causing elevated surface water levels around the world and unprecedented shoreline erosion.

Winner: Emily Stevens

Grade: 10th grade

School: New London High School

Teacher: Mr. David Kamm

Project: The Use of Wool to Control Sediment and Phosphorus Loss for an Ohio Soil.

All wool types in her study reduced cumulative sediment loss when compared to a control of bare soil. Soil erosion was reduced by upwards of 66% when wool was applied, with the medium wool type reducing soil erosion by >90%. Similarly, total P losses were reduced by upwards of 30% when wool was applied, with medium wool reducing phosphorus losses by almost 93%.

2020 WMAO Scholarship Winners

Eva Birk-Petri

Ohio Wesleyan University

Studying: Environmental Science


Luke Bobay

The Ohio State University

Studying: Environmental Science


Parul Baranwal

Graduate Research Assistant

Department of Civil & Environmental Engineering

The University of Toledo